I Grow My Hair

 

Here is a poem I had published in Mslexia in January 2009

 

I Grow My Hair

I grow my hair until it is a wide spread
of eagle wings. And you run afraid, as a rabbit runs,
before the dark shape on the ground.
You raise a small cloud of dust.
I raise you to the sun.

I grow my hair until it is a wide sweep
of ocean. You sail my storms in fear; steer
by the stars and sun until I suck your ship
into my deep currents. Our atoms become one.
We are rain, grass, rabbits.

I grow my hair until it is a wide curl
of light from a supernova. It envelops planets,
tangles the universe. I drag you, screaming, to
oblivion, yet you are made from the dust of stars.
You dream of them.

I grow my hair until it is a wide lick
of a tongue that speaks things men fear more than death.
If you would escape this, then run, my darling, run.
You raise a small cloud of dust.
I raise you to the sun.

Leave a Reply

