Sketches

My pamphlet, The Undoing, has a section of short poems I called ‘sketches’. These poemlets stem from comments and observations, little notes of moments, perplexities – somethings and nothings that got themselves caught on my mental cobwebs. I posted one earlier – The Cup – which came from a childhood impression. This one was provoked from a comment by my daughter that a lot of my physical mail consisted of catalogues for shoes and wine… For this one, I doodled a picture. Just a mood. No attempt at realism (apart, perhaps, from the size of the glass).

In the post, we get…


…brochures for comfortable footwear – soft flat shoes for shopping, sandals for sunshine cruises, grippy-soled boots for icy winters, slippers with easy fastenings. 

Then come the fat catalogues for wine – bottles, boxes, magnums. 
Those refined Malbecs – a spicy Gewürztraminer. Champagne for optimism.

Soft Merlots for evenings that cool all too soon. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.